SMU has a number of short-term outbound programmes for full-time SMU students only. In general, these are:

(i) Sino-Singapore Undergraduate Exchange - a four-week, non-credit-bearing programme whereby two weeks will be spent in China, and two weeks in Singapore.

(ii) Short-term Study Programme - a fee-paying, credit-bearing, 2- to 4-week programme to three universities, namely University of British Columbia (Canada), and University of St. Gallen (Switzerland) in summer, and University of Gadjah Mada (Indonesia) in winter.

(iii) Summer Exchange Programme - a credit-bearing exchange programme where students will spend a summer semester in any one of the following universities: Hong Kong University of Science & Technology (Hong Kong) and Humboldt University (Germany).  Students will be required to pay the prevailing SMU course fees for the number of courses they take over the summer semester. SMU students need not pay any tuition fee to the exchange universities.