Skip to content Skip to navigation

Peony Ferguson Bursary

About the Bursary

Established in 2011 and funded from the proceeds of an endowed gift by The Ian Ferguson Foundation, the Peony Ferguson Bursary aims to provide financial assistance to full-time undergraduates at the Singapore Management University and to motivate them to achieve all-round excellence.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Full-time undergraduates in any degree programme
  • Any nationality
  • Good academic results
  • Active CCA and community involvement
  • With demonstrated financial needs


One bursary will be awarded annually and in perpetuity, commencing Academic Year 2011-12.

Tenure and Benefits

  • The bursary, valued at $3,000, is tenable for one year of study.
  • The bursary will go towards funding the recipient's annual tuition fee.
  • The recipient may be in concurrent receipt of another bursary for cash allowance, subject to fulfilment of its eligibility criteria.


Not required

Tuition Grant Scheme

  • The recipient is required to take advantage of the Tuition Grant Scheme (TGS) provided by the Singapore Government for subsidised education.
  • Under the TGS, non-Singaporean recipients (including Singapore Permanent Residents) will be contractually obliged to work for Singapore-based companies for 3 years upon graduation.


Shortlisting of candidates for consideration will be from the list of applicants applying for SMU-administered bursaries in the year of award.


Centre for Student Financial Assistance
Office of Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Assistance

About the Donor

The Ian Ferguson Foundation was established in 1976 by the late Ian Ferguson, who believes in the importance of education. His wife, Peony was appointed as the chairperson of the Foundation. A generous and kind-hearted lady, Mrs Ferguson continues to honour the memory of her late husband and his legacy through her constant support in the advancement of education.


>> Click here to return to Financial Assistance Schemes for SMU undergraduates.

Last updated on 1 Mar 2017.